New store hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10am-8pm; Sunday-Monday 10am-6pm!

Kristin

Photo of bookseller Kristin

Kristin grew up exploring every indie bookstore near Asheville, NC. She's currently earning her master's degree in Library and Information Science with a Youth Studies concentration at SJSU...which is sorta like Extra Majoring in Children's Lit. 

She'd love to give a TED Talk about how we're living in a new golden age of children's literature, if only TED would call. When she's not lost in a book or two or three, she can often be found singing and acting on stages across the Bay Area.

 

Favorite Genres: 
Children's Lit
Essays
Fantasy
Literary Fiction
Nature Writing
Young Adult
Book Recommendations: 
Staff Pick Badge
Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

"What's your favorite book?" is an impossible and cruel question, but when pressed to answer, I usually reach for this one. It's the most hopeful post-apocalyptic novel you'll ever read, a meditation on the lasting power of art and what makes us human. --Kristin


The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

This novel, with its impeccably-imagined world and its characters who leap off the page, is a masterwork of contemporary fantasy for YAs and adults alike. I read it every November. By the time you finish, you will swear you could hop on a boat to the island of Thisby if you really tried. (Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle trilogy is pretty sacred to me as well.) --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Lalani of the Distant Sea Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062747280
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 15th, 2020

Erin Entrada Kelly is my favorite contemporary middle grade author, and this is my favorite of her novels (though they're all fantastic). It's a perfect quest/adventure story that doesn't talk down to its audience, featuring a heroine to root for, gorgeous prose, and a host of fascinating mythological creatures. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525555216
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

My top 2021 read. John Green might be better known for his novels, but here he crafts essays with his trademark insight and razor-sharp wit. Often laugh-out-loud hilarious and perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh, Bill Bryson, and Jenny Lawson. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Book Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063089686
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 19th, 2021

A Neil Gaiman children's story for all ages. This reimagining of The Jungle Book, about the ghosts in a graveyard who decide to raise a human boy named Bod, remains my favorite of all his books. And that's truly saying something! --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

My favorite book of 2020, the one that got me through the worst of COVID lockdown. Reading this lovely, sweet, and often humorous story feels like giving yourself a big hug. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
An Emotion of Great Delight Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062972415
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: HarperCollins - June 1st, 2021

Just stunning. Mafi writes in a way that's so lyrical and sumptuous compared to most current YA voices. The story of Shadi, a Muslim teenager trying to survive high school in the wake of the 9/11 attacks, will break your heart in the best way possible, then put it back together again just in time. One of the best YA novels of 2021. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313836
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 30th, 2021

A unique read that rewards multiple re-reads. Renkl creates short meditations/reflections that marry her own family history with her observations of the natural world surrounding her Southern home. Fans of Mary Oliver's poetry will enjoy these short, poetic essays. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Wizards of Once Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316472166
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

As decades of Harry Potter fandom can attest, few things are more fun than a good old-fashioned fantasy adventure book and, I promise, this is one of the best out there. You will root for the hilarious and unlikely team-up of warrior heroine Wish, wizard hero Xar, and all of their magical friends. --Kristin