Kristin

Photo of bookseller Kristin

Kristin grew up exploring every indie bookstore near Asheville, NC. She's currently earning her master's degree in Library and Information Science with a Youth Studies concentration at SJSU...which is sorta like Extra Majoring in Children's Lit. 

She'd love to give a TED Talk about how we're living in a new golden age of children's literature, if only TED would call. When she's not lost in a book or two or three, she can often be found singing and acting on stages across the Bay Area.

 

Favorite Genres: 
Children's Lit
Essays
Fantasy
Literary Fiction
Nature Writing
Young Adult
Book Recommendations: 
Staff Pick Badge
The Other Bennet Sister: A Novel Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250787620
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Picador - April 6th, 2021

One of my favorite novels of 2021! This one’s a must-read for Jane Austen fans (and I’m difficult to impress in that regard). But it’s ALSO for anyone looking for a story of a young woman discovering herself, distinguishing her identity from her family, and breaking free at last. The novel honors Austen’s trademark wit while also giving poor Mary Bennett from Pride and Prejudice the justice she deserves. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Pet This F*cking Puppy: A Touch-and-Feel Book for Stressed-Out Adults Cover Image
By Robb Pearlman, Jason Kayser (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780789338020
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Universe - February 25th, 2020

This book makes me cackle - especially the last page. It makes a perfect gift. Why should fun board books be limited to kids? --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062683267
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 21st, 2021

Completely unique in tone and imagination. This is the kind of book that I used to stumble upon, and fall in love with, in the fantasy section of the library when I was a kid. If that description speaks to you, then this book is for you. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Alice's Farm: A Rabbit's Tale Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250791757
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Square Fish - August 31st, 2021

I’m in love with this beautiful, tightrope-walking miracle of a book, which will appeal to adults as much as advanced younger readers. A 21st-century homage to Charlotte’s Web, it tells a simple, powerful, often hilarious story. Alice, a young rabbit, leads a group of wild animals in upstate NY as they secretly help the small organic farm that they call home to thrive, after well-meaning but clueless hipster farmers buy the farm. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

"What's your favorite book?" is an impossible and cruel question, but when pressed to answer, I usually reach for this one. It's the most hopeful post-apocalyptic novel you'll ever read, a meditation on the lasting power of art and what makes us human. --Kristin


The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

This novel, with its impeccably-imagined world and its characters who leap off the page, is a masterwork of contemporary fantasy for YAs and adults alike. I read it every November. By the time you finish, you will swear you could hop on a boat to the island of Thisby if you really tried. (Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle trilogy is pretty sacred to me as well.) --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
We Dream of Space Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062747303
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 5th, 2020

Erin Entrada Kelly is my favorite middle grade author! Here she explores the lives of three siblings trapped in a house with their parents’ fracturing marriage in the weeks leading up to the 1986 Challenger space launch, which will impact each sibling differently. Bird, the middle sister, is a heroine for the ages - hopeful and heartbreaking and so very real. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
$28.00
Not available
ISBN: 9780525555216
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

My top 2021 read. John Green might be better known for his novels, but here he crafts essays with his trademark insight and razor-sharp wit. Often laugh-out-loud hilarious and perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh, Bill Bryson, and Jenny Lawson. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Book Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780063089686
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 19th, 2021

A Neil Gaiman children's story for all ages. This reimagining of The Jungle Book, about the ghosts in a graveyard who decide to raise a human boy named Bod, remains my favorite of all his books. And that's truly saying something! --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

My favorite book of 2020, the one that got me through the worst of COVID lockdown. Reading this lovely, sweet, and often humorous story feels like giving yourself a big hug. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313836
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 30th, 2021

A unique read that rewards multiple re-reads. Renkl creates short meditations/reflections that marry her own family history with her observations of the natural world surrounding her Southern home. Fans of Mary Oliver's poetry will enjoy these short, poetic essays. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Wizards of Once Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316472166
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

As decades of Harry Potter fandom can attest, few things are more fun than a good old-fashioned fantasy adventure book and, I promise, this is one of the best out there. You will root for the hilarious and unlikely team-up of warrior heroine Wish, wizard hero Xar, and all of their magical friends. --Kristin