Kristin

Photo of bookseller Kristin

Kristin grew up exploring every indie bookstore near Asheville, NC. She's currently earning her master's degree in Library and Information Science with a Youth Studies concentration at SJSU...which is sorta like Extra Majoring in Children's Lit. 

She'd love to give a TED Talk about how we're living in a new golden age of children's literature, if only TED would call. When she's not lost in a book or two or three, she can often be found singing and acting on stages across the Bay Area.

 

Favorite Genres: 
Children's Lit
Essays
Fantasy
Literary Fiction
Nature Writing
Young Adult
Book Recommendations: 
Staff Pick Badge
Sorcery of Thorns By Margaret Rogerson Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781481497626
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - June 30th, 2020

One of my favorite fantasy novels ever. I mean, who wouldn’t want to live in a world of magical libraries, in which books of sorcery are living creatures with their own personalities and needs, but they can also transform into dangerous monsters, and thus librarians must be armed with swords? I want to be a sword-wielding librarian so badly it HURTS.  ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
A Town Called Solace By Mary Lawson Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735281295
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Vintage Canada - June 28th, 2022

If you’re looking for your next small-town-with-creeping-dread novel, look no further. The rural Canadian town of Solace captured my heart immediately with its three interconnected characters from different generations, each broken in their own way. This book beautifully captures the epic in the mundane, tracking how small actions and griefs can reverberate to others, but also how small mercies and kindnesses can bind people together. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Murder of Mr. Wickham By Claudia Gray Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593313817
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Vintage - May 3rd, 2022

At long last, the Agatha Christie/Jane Austen mashup of my dreams! This one’s a must-read for Austen fans with a loving sense of humor, and/or anyone who loves to curl up with a cozy British country house murder mystery. I need a film adaptation of this book immediately. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Golden Hour By Niki Smith Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316540339
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Ink - November 23rd, 2021

Just stunning. The latest Exhibit A to prove that yes, graphic novels are a valid form of literature. What a gorgeous, thoughtful story placed in an unusual setting. Perfect for any fan of the sweet love story in Heartstopper! ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Bookish People By Susan Coll Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781400234097
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Harper Muse - August 2nd, 2022

 

If David Sedaris (one of my favorites) decided to write a novel about the bookselling business, it would be this darkly comical treat. This one’s a must-read for anyone who loves bookstores and wants an honest and hilarious trip behind the scenes! ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Light Pirate: GMA Book Club Selection By Lily Brooks-Dalton Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538708279
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - December 6th, 2022

This is one of the most powerful books I have ever read. Brooks-Dalton has created a work that’s suspenseful and thoughtful, hypnotic and elegiac. It faces the consequences of climate change head-on, through the chronicle of one family, with a fascinating heroine at its center. One of my top reads of 2022. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Vampires, Hearts & Other Dead Things By Margie Fuston Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534474581
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - July 19th, 2022

It takes a whole lot for a new book about vampires to impress me. This one impressed me. Maybe because it’s also a beautiful exploration of the many stages of grief, and how far we’ll go to stave off an unimaginable loss, and how effectively loss can isolate people only to ultimately connect them again. This book made me smile and cry in the best way. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Praying with Jane Eyre: Reflections on Reading as a Sacred Practice By Vanessa Zoltan Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593538494
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: TarcherPerigee - July 5th, 2022

You’ve never read a book quite like this one. Vanessa Zoltan gives us a new template for interacting with our favorite books in a work that’s part memoir, part literary criticism, part exploration of what spirituality means in a secular society, and part meditation on generational trauma (she’s the granddaughter of four Holocaust survivors). Vanessa is one of my favorite public intellectuals, and an amazing human being. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Hidden Pictures: A Novel By Jason Rekulak Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250819345
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Flatiron Books - May 10th, 2022

I loved this creepy and pitch-perfect thriller - I couldn’t put it down! By including the child’s drawings as a crucial piece of the plot, Jason Rekulak makes Hidden Pictures not just a quick read but a unique one as well. He even manages to inspire some contemplation of heavier themes, with your skin crawling all the while. ~Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Other Bennet Sister: A Novel By Janice Hadlow Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250787620
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Picador - April 6th, 2021

One of my favorite novels of 2021! This one’s a must-read for Jane Austen fans (and I’m difficult to impress in that regard). But it’s ALSO for anyone looking for a story of a young woman discovering herself, distinguishing her identity from her family, and breaking free at last. The novel honors Austen’s trademark wit while also giving poor Mary Bennett from Pride and Prejudice the justice she deserves. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Pet This F*cking Puppy: A Touch-and-Feel Book for Stressed-Out Adults By Robb Pearlman, Jason Kayser (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Robb Pearlman, Jason Kayser (Illustrator)
$17.95
ISBN: 9780789338020
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Universe - February 25th, 2020

This book makes me cackle - especially the last page. It makes a perfect gift. Why should fun board books be limited to kids? --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Left-Handed Booksellers of London By Garth Nix Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062683267
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 21st, 2021

Completely unique in tone and imagination. This is the kind of book that I used to stumble upon, and fall in love with, in the fantasy section of the library when I was a kid. If that description speaks to you, then this book is for you. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Alice's Farm: A Rabbit's Tale By Maryrose Wood Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250791757
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Square Fish - August 31st, 2021

I’m in love with this beautiful, tightrope-walking miracle of a book, which will appeal to adults as much as advanced younger readers. A 21st-century homage to Charlotte’s Web, it tells a simple, powerful, often hilarious story. Alice, a young rabbit, leads a group of wild animals in upstate NY as they secretly help the small organic farm that they call home to thrive, after well-meaning but clueless hipster farmers buy the farm. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Station Eleven By Emily St. John Mandel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

"What's your favorite book?" is an impossible and cruel question, but when pressed to answer, I usually reach for this one. It's the most hopeful post-apocalyptic novel you'll ever read, a meditation on the lasting power of art and what makes us human. --Kristin


The Scorpio Races By Maggie Stiefvater Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

This novel, with its impeccably-imagined world and its characters who leap off the page, is a masterwork of contemporary fantasy for YAs and adults alike. I read it every November. By the time you finish, you will swear you could hop on a boat to the island of Thisby if you really tried. (Stiefvater's The Raven Cycle trilogy is pretty sacred to me as well.) --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
We Dream of Space: A Newbery Honor Award Winner By Erin Entrada Kelly Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062747310
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - March 22nd, 2022

Erin Entrada Kelly is my favorite middle grade author! Here she explores the lives of three siblings trapped in a house with their parents’ fracturing marriage in the weeks leading up to the 1986 Challenger space launch, which will impact each sibling differently. Bird, the middle sister, is a heroine for the ages - hopeful and heartbreaking and so very real. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Anthropocene Reviewed: Essays on a Human-Centered Planet By John Green Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525556534
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

My top 2021 read. John Green might be better known for his novels, but here he crafts essays with his trademark insight and razor-sharp wit. Often laugh-out-loud hilarious and perfect for fans of David Sedaris, Allie Brosh, Bill Bryson, and Jenny Lawson. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaiman, Dave McKean Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063089686
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - October 19th, 2021

A Neil Gaiman children's story for all ages. This reimagining of The Jungle Book, about the ghosts in a graveyard who decide to raise a human boy named Bod, remains my favorite of all his books. And that's truly saying something! --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea By TJ Klune Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

My favorite book of 2020, the one that got me through the worst of COVID lockdown. Reading this lovely, sweet, and often humorous story feels like giving yourself a big hug. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss By Margaret Renkl Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313836
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 30th, 2021

A unique read that rewards multiple re-reads. Renkl creates short meditations/reflections that marry her own family history with her observations of the natural world surrounding her Southern home. Fans of Mary Oliver's poetry will enjoy these short, poetic essays. --Kristin


Staff Pick Badge
The Wizards of Once By Cressida Cowell Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316472166
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 4th, 2018

As decades of Harry Potter fandom can attest, few things are more fun than a good old-fashioned fantasy adventure book and, I promise, this is one of the best out there. You will root for the hilarious and unlikely team-up of warrior heroine Wish, wizard hero Xar, and all of their magical friends. --Kristin