New store hours: Tuesday-Saturday 10am-8pm; Sunday-Monday 10am-6pm!

Donna

Donna

East coast transplant Donna spends her free time reading, knitting, and listening to Kpop, that is, when she's not being distracted by her two adorable but needy chiweenies. She loves reading anything and everything, but her truest literary loves will always be science fiction & fantasy. Her literary crushes include Dickon from The Secret Garden, Luc from The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, and Jane from One Last Stop.

Favorite Genres: 
Children's Lit
Fantasy
LGBTQ Fiction
Literary Fiction
Science Fiction
Young Adult
Book Recommendations: 
Staff Pick Badge
Last Night at the Telegraph Club Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525555254
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

The well-deserved winner of this year’s National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, Last Night at the Telegraph is a beautifully written novel about first and forbidden love set in 1950s San Francisco’s Chinatown. The author’s dedication to historical accuracy really brought the time period to life and completely drew me in. --Donna

 


Staff Pick Badge
Daughter of the Deep Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781368077927
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - October 26th, 2021

Don’t miss this incredible, action-packed modern take on Jules Verne’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Aspiring underwater explorer and linguist Ana Dakkar stumbles into the middle of a century-long school rivalry that is turning deadlier by the day, and the secret of her mysterious heritage is finally revealed. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Batpig: When Pigs Fly (A Batpig Book #1) Cover Image
By Rob Harrell, Rob Harrell (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780593354155
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Dial Books - November 9th, 2021

It’s a bird, it’s a plane, it’s a… pig? This hilarious super-swine hero origin-story had me giggling the whole time I was reading. It’s perfect for fans of Max Meow and Dog Man, and will be a hit for any young reader! --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero Cover Image
By E. Lockhart, Manuel Preitano (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401293222
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: DC Comics - September 7th, 2021

 I loved this beautifully-illustrated graphic novel which tells the story of Willow, a young Jewish activist stuck in an unethical job in order to pay for her mom’s medical bills. When a freak accident bonds her telepathically to her loyal dog companion, she decides to use her powers to be a voice for her community.. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Small Favors Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593306741
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Delacorte Press - July 27th, 2021

This beautifully-written, atmospheric, and spooky novel follows a young girl, Ellerie, who, unlike her twin brother who can roam the town at will, can only spend her time tending her family’s bees and caring for her sisters.

But when mysterious entities start granting wishes for the townsfolk, no matter how grand or impossible, Ellerie must find strength within herself to fight the creatures and save her town and everyone she loves. --Donna
 


Staff Pick Badge
She Who Became the Sun Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250621801
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Tor Books - July 20th, 2021

This epic fantasy, based on real Chinese history, but with a genderqueer twist, is one of my favorite reads of the year.

From the very first page, the main character’s voice had me completely enthralled. Her journey from nameless girl with a fate of nothing to esteemed general in a rebel army was full of twists, turns, and surprises, and I enjoyed every minute. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
A Spindle Splintered (Fractured Fables) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250765352
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Tordotcom - October 5th, 2021

What if there was a multiverse full of different Sleeping Beauties? What if there were some of them who decided to stop being victims in their stories, and instead become the saviors? And what if the dark fairy at the heart of the story isn’t who she seems?

These are the questions being answered in Alix E. Harrow’s newest novella. Harrow is quickly becoming a must-read author, with her lush but readable prose, instantly engaging characters, and incredible imagination. Highly recommend! --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Dial A for Aunties Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593333037
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Berkley - April 27th, 2021

Meddie Chan is just trying to be the best daughter and niece she can, helping out with her family’s upscale wedding business (“Don’t leave your big day to chance, leave it to the Chans!”), when a disastrous first date turns into an accidental homicide! Now it’s up to Meddie and her well-meaning but chaotic mom and aunties to hide the body and make sure the wedding they’re in charge of goes off without a hitch.

Of course, hijinks ensue.

I devoured this book, laughing the entire time. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
One Last Stop Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250244499
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 1st, 2021

I loved Casey McQuiston’s debut novel, so I was more than eager to get my hands on this book. It did not disappoint me. In fact, I loved it so much I immediately bought another copy so I could lend out my first one!

This beautiful and queer love story follows August, a student who lives with a hilariously quirky group of roomates. One day she encounters Jane on the subway and her life is never the same. Because though Jane returns August’s feelings, they can only meet on the train, because Jane is unmoored through time. It takes all of August’s love and resolve to save her. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Felix Ever After Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062820266
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - April 20th, 2021

Felix Love has never been in love. How ironic. Then again, he’s also worried that he has one too many marginalizations, being Black, queer, and transgender, to ever be truly happy. And when he starts getting hateful messages sent to his social media, his worst fears start coming true.


I loved reading along with Felix’s journey as he navigates school, bullies, and struggles with his art. Kacen Callender’s writing moved me to tears, and the book left me wanting to read more from such a talented author. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
The Sea in Winter Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062872043
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Heartdrum - January 5th, 2021

This beautifully written middle grade novel tells the story of Maisie Cannon, a young Native girl struggling with a leg injury that may put a stop to her lifelong dream of becoming a ballerina. She and her loving family go on their annual trip to see family and friends in the Makah Nation, but she can’t shake the feelings of hopelessness and sadness that have settled on her like a dark cloud since her accident. Maisie’s family desperately want to help her, but how can they when she doesn’t want to help herself? --Donna
 


Staff Pick Badge
The Awakening Storm: A Graphic Novel (City of Dragons #1) Cover Image
By Jaimal Yogis, Vivian Truong (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338660425
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Graphix - September 21st, 2021

Moving to a new country and starting at a new school is hard enough, what happens when you mix in ancient tales and dragons?!

This fun, action-packed graphic novel follows Grace as she is given a strange egg by a mysterious jade merchant, which soon hatches into an adorable baby dragon. She and her new friends must care for the dragon all while avoiding masked men who are determined to dragon-nap him for their own gains. Perfect for fans of Avatar the Last Airbender and Raina Telgemeier. --Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534469884
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 7th, 2021

Everything makes Chicken cranky, the sun, the sky, surprises, dirt, mismatched socks, cupcakes without sprinkles, the list goes on! But what happens when an optimistic worm comes into Chicken’s life? The friendship of a lifetime.

This hilarious early graphic novel is perfect for those days when you wake up on the wrong side of the bed!--Donna


Staff Pick Badge
Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

I adored this gorgeously illustrated graphic novel set in a world so different from our own. Bea has always grown up, not in the light of the sun, but in a dome under massive artificial Lights. But those Lights are starting to go out. When her grandfather goes missing, Bea must team up with Cad, a member of the long lost race of Galdurians to save the world from plunging into darkness. --Donna