Staff Favorites - Young Adult

Updated 5/2/21

Staff Pick Badge
Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Fat Chance, Charlie Vega Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780823447176
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Holiday House - February 2nd, 2021

This is a book I wish I had when I was 16! Having a book where fat girls are at the center of the story is just what we need. This book brought so much joy to my heart. -- Joss


Staff Pick Badge
The Inheritance Games Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368052405
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Avery's life is upended when she learns of a mystery inheritance, and the fun and action begins! Equal parts of puzzling intrigue, danger and romance. This is a smart, funny book.


Staff Pick Badge
The Novice: Summoner: Book One (The Summoner Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250080059
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Square Fish - May 10th, 2016

 

Pokemon meets Harry Potter and Lord of the Rings in this fantastic fantasy where a young boy must find where he belongs with the power he possesses. One of my all time favorite trilogies! ~ Lila


Staff Pick Badge
Salt to the Sea Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780142423622
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 1st, 2017

An exceptional historic novel with razor sharp action. A ragtag group of Latvians, Germans and Prussians must cross into Germany as the war teeters to its end. They all have secrets and fears and they all have hopes of surviving. Trust is a treasured commodity that they all learn to bond them together as they begin their most perilous journey together. A fantastic book! 

- Marilyn


Staff Pick Badge
This Will Be Funny Someday Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062955708
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 19th, 2021

 Izey, a shy 16-year old from Chicago, discovers stand-up comedy when, by a series of coincidences, she finds herself in a comedy club full of college students. Perfect for fans of Jesse Andrews & John Green, this book is equal parts funny and heart-warming. Loved it! --Lila


Staff Pick Badge
Legendborn (The Legendborn Cycle) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

One of my top five reads from 2020. This is a modern fantasy  about a secret magic society at an elite school inspired by Arthurian legend. Spectacular characters. So Good!! I need the next book in the series NOW!

So much more than just a good fantasy. You will have to see for yourself. --Lila


Staff Pick Badge
Pet Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593175446
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 19th, 2021

This is a brilliant and dazzling story for the young people around 14 and anyone older! Emezi writes with so much imagination and wisdom.

An utterly unique coming-of-age story that I stayed up way too late to finish. I can't wait to read it again!

- Olivia


Staff Pick Badge
Genuine Fraud Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780385744782
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Ember - May 7th, 2019

Addictive Thriller!

Rewind: Jule & Imogen are the closest of friends. Obsessed with each other, even. Imogen is an orphan, an heiress; she and Jule spend the summer together, sharing secrets they'd never reveal to another soul....

But that was months ago...

Where is Immie now?

And why is Jule using her name? --Lila


Staff Pick Badge
All Eyes on Her Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250158178
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Imprint - August 18th, 2020

Tabby and her boyfriend Mark go for a picnic in the woods. But only Tabby returns. What happened to Mark?

Everyone thinks they know what happened. Some say Tabby pushed him off that cliff-- She didn't even like hiking. She was jealous. She had more than her share of demons. Others think he fell accidentally--she loved Mark. She would never hurt him... even if he hurt her.

But what's the real story? This story is told from everyone but Tabby herself as the people in her life string together the events that led Tabby to come back alone. Her best friend, sister, enemy, and ex-boyfriend. Because everybody thinks they know a girl better than she knows herself.

What do you think the truth is? --Lila


Staff Pick Badge
What Big Teeth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780374314309
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - February 2nd, 2021

 

This book is bizarre in the most addictive way! An eerie gothic experience, this book is magical and horrifying in equal measure. Perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Silvia Moreno-Garcia. --Lila


Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781442408937
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2014

Wolf by Wolf: One girl’s mission to win a race and kill Hitler Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316405089
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

The Storm Crow Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492672937
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - July 9th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Bloom Cover Image
By Kevin Panetta, Savanna Ganucheau (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626726413
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: First Second - January 29th, 2019

Long Way Down Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481438261
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - April 2nd, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Like a Love Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062839367
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 4th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Heretics Anonymous Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062698889
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - July 2nd, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
A Very Large Expanse of Sea Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062866578
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 8th, 2019

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524700485
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 17th, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
Two Can Keep a Secret Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524714727
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: Delacorte Press - January 8th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
Ruby Red (The Ruby Red Trilogy #1) Cover Image
By Kerstin Gier, Anthea Bell (Translated by)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780312551513
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Square Fish - May 22nd, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
The Siren Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062392008
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: HarperTeen - May 2nd, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
Six of Crows Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Her Royal Highness (Royals #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524738280
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780553499148
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Ember - April 25th, 2017

Four Dead Queens Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525513940
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 11th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The Poet X Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062662804
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - March 6th, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
Darius the Great Is Not Okay Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780525552970
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 20th, 2019

The Serpent King Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553524055
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Ember - June 6th, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
Ziggy, Stardust and Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525517641
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - August 6th, 2019

The War Outside Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316316712
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062824127
Availability: Backordered
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 7th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Check, Please! Book 1: # Hockey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250177964
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: First Second - September 18th, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
You Owe Me a Murder Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328519023
Availability: Usually Arrives at Kepler's in 3-14 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - March 5th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
#MurderTrending Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781368013703
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 9th, 2019

Code Name Verity Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781423152880
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - May 7th, 2013

The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

Dragon Hoops Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781626720794
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: First Second - March 17th, 2020

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780062348685
Availability: In Stock at Kepler's Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - June 7th, 2016