Special Monday Hours: 
Monday 5/27: 10am-4:30pm
Monday 6/3: 10am-4:30pm

Meet the Sci Fi/Fantasy Day Authors!




Andy Weir was first hired as a programmer for a national laboratory at age fifteen and has been working as a software engineer ever since. He is also a lifelong space nerd and a devoted hobbyist of subjects like relativistic physics, orbital mechanics, and the history of manned spaceflight. The Martian is his first novel.




Matthew Jobin holds a Ph.D. in anthropology from Stanford University and lectures in anthropology at Santa Clara University. The idea for The Nethergrim came to Matthew as a young boy exploring the forest surrounding his home. Intent on telling the story of this fantasy world, he's been developing it and its inhabitants ever since. 

Credit: Jake Reinig



David J. Peterson has been creating languages since 2000 and working on the HBO original series "Game of Thrones" since 2009. In 2011, he became the alien language and culture consultant for the Syfy original series "Defiance". In 2013, he joined the crew of the CW's Star-Crossed and also Syfy's Dominion as a language creator. In 2007, he helped to found the Language Creation Society and is also the author of The Art of Language Invention, to be published by Penguin Books in 2015. 




Marie Brennan is an anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She most recently misapplied her professors' hard work to the Onyx Court historical fantasy series (Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, and With Fate Conspire). She is also the author of the doppelanger duology of Warrior and Witch, the urban fantasy Lies and Prophecy, A Natural History of Dragons, and more than forty short stories. 




Chaz Brenchley has been making a living as a writer since the age of eighteen. He is the author of nine thrillers, most recently Shelter, and two fantasy series, The Books of Outremerand Selling Water by the River. As Daniel Fox, he has published a Chinese-based fantasy series, beginning with Dragon in Chains; as Ben Macallan, an urban fantasy series beginning with Desdaemona. A British Fantasy Award winner, he has also published books for children and more than 500 short stories. His most recent book is Being Small 




Ellen Klages was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award and is a graduate of the Clarion South writing workshop. Her short fiction has appeared in science fiction and fantasy anthologies and magazines, including The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Black Gate, Eclipse, and Firebirds Rising. Her story, "Basement Magic," won the Best Novelette Nebula Award in 2005. Several of her other stories have been on the final ballot for the Nebula, World Fantasy, and Hugo Awards, and have been reprinted in various "Year’s Best" volumes. She’s written two novels for children: The Green Glass Sea and White Sands, Red Menace. Portable Childhoods came out in 2007 and the novella, Wakulla Springs, came out in 2013.  



Pat Murphy is a writer and scientist, whose stories and novels all have a hint of the strange. Some have been called science fiction, some fantasy, and some neither one. Her fiction writing has won a number of awards, including the Nebula Award for Science Fiction, the World Fantasy Award, the Philip K. Dick Award for best paperback original, the Christopher Award, and the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award.

She also co-founded the James Tiptree Memorial Award with Karen Joy Fowler. Pat also writes books about science and has taught in Stanford University’s Creative Writing Program, at the University of California at Santa Cruz, and at the Clarion Speculative Fiction Workshops in Michigan and Seattle. 

Credit: Clare Thomas



Steven Erikson is an archaeologist and anthropologist and a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop. His previous novels in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series--Gardens of the Moon, Deadhouse Gates, Memories of Ice, House of Chains, Midnight Tides, The Bonehunters, and Reaper's Gale--have met with widespread international acclaim and established him as a major voice in the world of fantasy fiction. 




Tad Williams' 'Memory, Sorrow and Thorn' series established him as an internationally bestselling fantasy author. Tad is also the author of the Otherland series, the Shadowmarch books, The War of the Flowers, Caliban's Hour, two collections of short stories, the Bobby Dollar novels, and the Ordinary Farm novels with Deborah Beale.