Staff Pick Badge
Most of the Better Natural Things in the World: (Juvenile Fiction, Nature Book for Kids, Wordless Picture Book) Cover Image

Most of the Better Natural Things in the World: (Juvenile Fiction, Nature Book for Kids, Wordless Picture Book) (Hardcover)

By Dave Eggers, Angel Chang (Illustrator)
$17.99
In Stock at Kepler's Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 25 5:18am
(CPICTURE-)

Staff Reviews


A visually stunning picture book written by the legendary Dave Eggers with vibrant illustrations by Angel Chang. Destined to be a family favorite, this book will enchant readers while building geographic vocabulary for children around ages 4-8; even adults will learn new words to describe our lush, natural world. (Olivia)

— From Children's Picture Books

Description


A tiger carries a dining room chair on her back. But why? Where is she going? With just one word per page, in lush, color-rich landscapes, we learn about the features that make up our world: an archipelago, a dune, an isthmus, a lagoon. Across them all, the tiger roams. An enigmatic investigation of our world's most beautiful places from bestselling author Dave Eggers, beautifully illustrated by debut artist Angel Chang.

• Each page introduces young readers to a different geographic element—from archipelagos to lagoons to gorges
• Universal story of a mother's arduous journey back to her family
• Quirky and enigmatic story with hipster appeal

Fans of Symphony City, Goodbye Summer, Hello Autumn, Curiousitree, and Natural Wonders of the World will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Parents and grandparents
• Teachers
• Fans of Dave Eggers or McSweeney's
• Fans of wildlife or animal lovers
• Art book lovers

About the Author


Dave Eggers is an American writer, editor, and publisher. He is also the founder of McSweeney's, the cofounder of the youth writing organization 826 Valencia, and the founder of ScholarMatch.

Angel Chang is an artist who lives in Taiwan. This is her first book.

Praise For…


"As entertaining as it is educational, this book has much to offer young naturalists and budding scientists."-Horn Book Magazine

"Eggers (What Can a Citizen Do?) and newcomer Chang imagine a wild world emptied of humans, their buildings, their vehicles, and their trash-landscapes that make [a] tiger's expedition gloriously free and startlingly beautiful."—Publishers Weekly

"Dave Eggers's stunning picture book introduces the youngest readers to words that identify the natural world's wonders."— Shelf Awareness, starred review

"A white tiger transports a yellow dining room chair on a fantastic voyage across varied landscapes. Each spread features a single topographic designation. The tiger swims, climbs, hikes, rows, and meanders his way across a tundra, estuary, atoll, cloud forest, and more. The wonderful illustrations will excite viewers about the natural world."—School Library Journal

"[S]tunning artwork makes a case for environmentalism and will have readers strapping on a chair and heading out in search of our planet's diverse and wondrous beauty."— Booklist, starred review

"An artistic envisioning of a list poem, of sorts, about place. Repeated perusals will have readers proclaiming it's grrrrr-eat."— Kirkus Reviews, Starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9781452162829
ISBN-10: 1452162824
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: November 5th, 2019
Pages: 52
Language: English