The Seduction: An addictive new story of desire and obsession from the bestselling author of Sleep With Me Cover Image

The Seduction: An addictive new story of desire and obsession from the bestselling author of Sleep With Me (Hardcover)

$26.00
In Stock at Kepler's Now
2 on hand, as of Jan 17 1:15pm
(MYSTERY-)

Description


A haunting story of motherhood and obsession for fans of Sharp Objects and Give Me Your Hand.

Beth Penn lives a peaceful life with her partner Sol and their daughter Fern. But Beth is troubled by increasing unease. She cannot shake her uncertainty over her mother, who disappeared when Beth was a child, and she has a sense that her daughter is keeping secrets from her.

So she goes to therapy. Dr. Tamara Bywater is there to help her patients. But what if the very person who is meant to be the solution becomes the most dangerous problem of all? And why is what's bad for us so enticing?
Taut and atmospheric, The Seduction is a disturbing journey into the darkness of the human mind.

About the Author


JOANNA BRISCOE is the author of five previous novels: Mothers and Other Lovers, Skin, the bestselling Sleep with Me, which was adapted for ITV Drama by Andrew Davies, You, and Touched. She is a literary critic for the Guardian and contributes regularly to BBC Radio. She lives in London with her family.
joannabriscoe.com
@JoannaBriscoe

Praise For…


"[A] sizzling new thriller... Briscoe has a dreamy, elliptical style that reflects the dreamy, elliptical sensibilities of her characters. The Seduction examines the life of one such woman, Beth, a London artist whose psychological upheavals — over what she has lost, what she is afraid of losing, what she wants — threaten to unravel her family and destroy her sanity." - New York Times Book Review

“Provocatively plumb[s] a pair of complex women ready to risk all to feel electrically alive.” —Publishers Weekly

“Briscoe slowly and skillfully unspools the sexual and psychological tension to the breaking point . . . Like the smooth surface of an oil painting, the novel presents a slickly beautiful vision of fantasy, layered under with ferocious, stabbing brushstrokes of pain. A haunting novel that lays bare the ugliness of narcissism at its most extreme.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Compelling, erotically charged . . . Delve[s] sharply into the fraught connections between mothers and daughters and the way those connections reverberate across generations. Spare but richly poetic language makes an insightful literary thriller.” —Booklist

“Joanna Briscoe writes with elegance and passion about the clashes, misunderstandings and silences between generations” —Maggie O'Farrell

“Her prose is beguilingly good” —Elizabeth Day, Observer

“Dark, sexy, compelling” —Sofka Zinovieff

“Briscoe weaves compelling fiction. The prose is rich, the setting evocative” —Guardian

“A vivid and passionate writer. She plunges headlong into sticky themes of desire, love and hatred, uncovering the unpalatable parts of the psyche with an unflinching eye” —Sunday Times

“A passionate and humorous storyteller, Briscoe is a writer who puts her reader's pleasure first” —Independent

“Elegiac, beautiful, evocative ... Works in much the same way as an obsession ... you may wish to escape, but have already become addicted” —Anita Sethi, Daily Telegraph

“Seductive, scary and almost frighteningly readable” —Julie Myerson