Pine Island Visitors By Polly Horvath Cover Image

Pine Island Visitors (Hardcover)

$18.99
In Stock at Kepler's Now
1 on hand, as of Jun 19 9:20pm
(CMIDDLE-)

Description


By the Newbery Honor author, Polly Horvath, comes a sequel to her popular Pine Island Home about orphaned sisters who find a way to make a new family.

Fiona, Marlin, Natasha, and Charlie McCready have been adopted by their unlikely guardian, Al, and finally settled into their new home on Pine Island in British Columbia.  

Then they receive a letter from Mrs. Witherspoon who took care of them after their parents died telling them that she is coming to visit for three months—an inordinate amount of time for a houseguest. Accommodating a fifth person in the tiny house is hard enough, but to their horror, Mrs. Weatherspoon arrives with a companion, her childhood friend, Jo.

Jo has opinions about everything—what they should eat, how they should behave—and she doesn’t hesitate to express them. And sweet Mrs. Witherspoon seems to have fallen under her spell. When she and Jo announce that they are going to extend their stay even longer, Fiona and Marlin are beside themselves. Fiona hates rocking the boat, but there must be a way to get rid of these grown-up bullies so she and her sisters can have the life they wish to lead.

A Kirkus Reviews' Best Middle Grade Book of the Year

About the Author


Polly Horvath has written many books for children including Everything on a Waffle, a Newbery Honor Book; The Canning Season, a National Book Award winner; and The Trolls, a National Book Award finalist. She lives in British Columbia with her family. Visit her at www.PollyHorvath.com.

Praise For…


★ "Horvath keeps the pace captivating in this domestic drama as she demonstrates that life’s ups and downs are inevitable. . . . a compelling case for self-reliance, creativity, and kindness. Terrifically entertaining."—Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"True to form, Horvath packs this sequel . . . with relatable incident, vivid dialogue, humor, and moments of profound reflection on the human condition."—The Horn Book

"Through steady, sober prose and the protagonists’ complex relationships, Horvath creates successfully strained situations, giving way to gratifying resolutions that offer a comforting reassurance that bad times don’t last forever."—Publishers Weekly

"A cozy read for fans of The Vanderbeekers and The Penderwicks . . ."The Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Horvath's prose is smooth and engaging (she excels at both comedy and pathos) and always respects children's inner lives. Contemporary yet classic, a fine addition to the family stories shelf."—Booklist


Product Details
ISBN: 9780823452958
ISBN-10: 0823452956
Publisher: Margaret Ferguson Books
Publication Date: October 10th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English