Kepler's announces expanded outdoor plaza shopping and phone service. Outdoor shopping available during Tuesday-Friday 11am-5pm, Saturday 10am- 3pm, and Sunday 10am-2pm. Please read our statement about Black Lives Matter and browse our recommended books for combating racism for adults and kids.

Staff Pick Badge
The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Cover Image

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse (Hardcover)

$22.99
In Stock In Store
19 on hand, as of Aug 13 1:45am
(GRN-KSF)

Staff Reviews


Aggie's Non-Fiction Pick for November 2019

— From Aggie's Books of the Month

 

The whimsical little book The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse, reminiscent of treasured classics such as Winnie-the-Pooh and The Little Prince, is full of wonderful things. The conversations between four different creatures about friendship, kindness and courage are depicted with humor and grace. Each page is a small marvel of a simple, yet profound advice. The miraculous and magical ink and watercolor drawings contain hidden stories; this book is to be reread and cherished. We cannot think of a better book to create delight and pleasure in the reader. It should be on everyone’s gift list. --Aggie

— From AGGIE'S BOOK-OF-THE-MONTH SELECTIONS

Description


#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER · WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER  · USA TODAY BESTSELLER

The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse is not only a thought-provoking, discussion-worthy story, the book itself is an object of art.”- The New York Times

From the revered British illustrator, a modern fable for all ages that explores life’s universal lessons, featuring 100 color and black-and-white drawings.

“What do you want to be when you grow up?” asked the mole.

“Kind,” said the boy.

Charlie Mackesy offers inspiration and hope in uncertain times in this beautiful book based on his famous quartet of characters. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse explores their unlikely friendship and the poignant, universal lessons they learn together.

Radiant with Mackesy’s warmth and gentle wit, The Boy, the Mole, the Fox, and the Horse blends hand-written narrative with dozens of drawings, including some of his best-loved illustrations (including “Help,” which has been shared over one million times) and new, never-before-seen material. A modern classic in the vein of The Tao of Pooh, The Alchemist, and The Giving Tree, this charmingly designed keepsake will be treasured for generations to come.

About the Author


Charlie Mackesy was born during a snowy winter in Northumberland. He has been a cartoonist for The Spectator and a book illustrator for Oxford University Press. He has collaborated with Richard Curtis for Comic Relief, and Nelson Mandela on a lithograph project, “The Unity Series.” He has lived and painted in South Africa, Southern Africa and New Orleans, and co-runs a social enterprise, Mama Buci, in Zambia, which helps families of low and no income to become beekeepers. He lives in London but is often in Suffolk. Visit him at charliemackesy.com

Praise For…


The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse is not only a thought-provoking, discussion-worthy story, the book itself is an object of art.”

New York Times

“The world that I long to inhabit is the one that Charlie Mackesy has created – a world of infinite kindness, wisdom, mutual care and tenderness, and true love between real friends. My prayer/hope is that our world will become more like this one.”
Elizabeth Gilbert, New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and Big Magic

"Love, friendship, and kindness--this book speaks a universal language."
Bear Grylls

"A wonderful work of art and a wonderful window into the human heart"
Richard Curtis

"Simply, the world need's Charlie's work right now."
Miranda Hart

“A sweet tale rendered in swirly black calligraphy and watercolor. Childlike in its simplicity, its messages are universal. . . . Mackesy has brought people together.”
The Washington Post

“A lonely boy ambles through the countryside on a spring day, finding companionship: first meeting the mole, then the other animals of the title. As they walk, the new friends talk, wonder, share their hopes and fears and pose some big questions. . . . A big hit.”
The Philadelphia Inquirer

“A delightful treat of a book. . . . If there were classes on how to be a good person, this book would be the textbook.”
Horse Nation


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062976581
ISBN-10: 0062976583
Publisher: HarperOne
Publication Date: October 22nd, 2019
Pages: 128
Language: English