Staff Picks - Ron

 
Born and raised
he moved around
and enjoyed
and then

Who is "I"?
 

Staff Pick Logo
The Dorito Effect: The Surprising New Truth about Food and Flavor Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781476724232
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 15th, 2016

Unputdownable story of modern food and the answer to why chicken (amongst other things) doesn't taste like chicken any more, and why  you can't seem to stopping reaching for that next chip. Warning: Do not read hungry. --Ron


Staff Pick Logo
Black Hole Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781593766078
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull Press - August 11th, 2015

Great read from a singular San Francisco talent about time travel, mini whales, addiction and a new drug that somehow never runs out. A must read for fans of Philip K. Dick and William Burroughs. --Ron


Staff Pick Logo
The Underground Railroad Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

I could give you a string of superlatives or use adjectives like "heartbreaking" and "treacherous" or words like "betrayal" and phrases such as "uncertain freedom," but all I really want to tell you is this book is amazing and necessary, that the writing is incredible, and you really should read it. --Ron


Staff Pick Logo
The Sellout Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374260507
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - March 3rd, 2015

The Sellout is the quintessential Black L.A. American Novel, and Paul Beatty's writing is as wildly hilarious, perceptive, honest and self-aware as Richard Pryor Live on the Sunset Strip. Darkly comic, inventive, skewering, unironic, challenging and hopeful this book is an absulute must read and unbelievably good. --Ron


Staff Pick Logo
Joe Gould's Teeth Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781101947586
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 17th, 2016

Jill Lepore has delivered a very timely and fascinating examination of race, class, sex and privelege in this thorough and consuming investigation of an infamous bohemian "madman" who always claimed to be writing, but never could quite produce a work he touted as "the largest oral history ever attmepted". Here, Lepore expertly peels back the layer's of Joe Gould's curious myth in an effort to recover the messy, complicated, breathing truth. --Ron


Staff Pick Logo
Blackass Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977337
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - March 1st, 2016

Blackass is a novel set in Nigeria about a man who wakes to discover that he has turned white overnight and sets off to create a new and better life for himself. Great read. Subtle and effective examination of race, class, sex, privilege, otherness and opportunity in modern day Nigeria. The title refers to the protagonist's incomplete transformation wherein his ass remains black though everything else has changed. --Ron


The People in the Trees Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345803313
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor Books - May 6th, 2014

Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood, and the Prison of Belief Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780307745309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage Books - November 5th, 2013

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780679775430
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage Books USA - September 1998

A Week at the Airport Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780307739674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage International - September 21st, 2010

Stranger in a Strange Land Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780441790340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace Books - May 15th, 1987

Fight Club Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780393327342
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - October 17th, 2005

The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780312863555
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orb Books - June 15th, 1997

The Master & Margarita Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780679760801
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 19th, 1996

Sacred Games Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780061130366
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Perennial - December 18th, 2007

Freedom from the Known Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780060648084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperOne - March 10th, 2009