Staff Picks - Jenna

   

I am 25 Years Young. 

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid." -Albert Einstein

3 Things You Absolutely, Positively Need to Know About Me

  1. I love my cat pajamas and spending all of Sunday in them.
  2. I still play dress up.
  3. I have multiple nicknames including: Button.

 

3 Other Less Important Things That I Suppose I Could Mention

  1. I am a fashion major, with an Associates of Arts Degree in Merchandise Marketing from FIDM in San Francisco.
  2. I'm currently writing a Young Adult series.
  3. I'm a writer and co-founder of a lifestyles blog.

 

 

Staff Pick Logo
The Secret History Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781400031702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 13th, 2004

BEST book I have ever read. Brilliant writing, powerful themes and extremely unsettling. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Wolf by Wolf: One Girl's Mission to Win a Race and Kill Hitler Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316405089
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 4th, 2016

World War II is over and Hitler has won. Yael, a valued member of the resistance has one mission: Kill Hitler. To complete her mission, Yael must win a deadly motorcycle race across continents. This is a MUST READ! --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Milk and Honey Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449474256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 6th, 2015

Milk and Honey stole my heart. This is a beautiful little book about life, love and loss and heartbreak. Everyone can relate in their own way. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
A Torch Against the Night Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781101998878
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - August 30th, 2016

An incredible, thrilling and vivid instalment to the Ember In The Ashes series. You won't see what's coming. Brilliant! --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
The Universe of Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781449480127
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 4th, 2016

For fans of Milk and Honey. This book of poetry makes me feel like I'm falling in love for the first time. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Blood for Blood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316405157
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 1st, 2016

The action continues in one of my favorite books of the year! Gorgeous writing and an incredible heroine. You've got to read this!!! --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Disruption Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780732298104
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - October 4th, 2016

For those who loved Divergent. Maggie Stevens' Life mission is to find her father and bring him home. Her plan? Simple, take down the entire corrupt government that took him away. What could possibly go wrong? --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Frostblood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316273251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 10th, 2017

The war between ice and fire has never been so compelling. A gripping tale of resilience  and strength. For fans of The Red Queen. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Shadowshaper Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780545591614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - June 30th, 2015

Sierra is an artist. Her summer project is to complete a mural at a family friends Junkyard. Sierra's world thrown upside-down when a corpse crashes her party, family friends start to go missing, and her dying grandfather starts to reveal her families dark and mystical past. With the help of street artist, Robbie, Sierra starts to unlock the mysteries of her grandfather's past and harness the powers she possesses to stop the darkness that threats to take over her city. Amazing. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Still Waters Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399168475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - April 21st, 2015

Jason has one goal: save enough money to take his little sister and run away from his abusive father. When the school jock and rich kid, Michael offers Jason money to hang with Michael and his crew, Jason can't afford to say no. When Jason uncovers the reason for Michael's odd proposal, it costly and even deadly. Still Waters grabbed me from page one and held me until the very bitter end. Outstanding. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Places No One Knows Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553522631
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - May 17th, 2016

Waverly has a seemingly perfect life with one, indescribable and unimaginable secret that she's not even sure is real. With the number of sleepless nights piling up around her, friendships crumbling in front of her eyes, and a new look into the difficult life of a classmate and school loser, Marshall Holt, Waverly is beginning to see just how impossible being "perfect" can be. This book was brilliant, beautiful, and imaginative. A must read! --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Everything, Everything Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780553496642
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - September 1st, 2015

Madeline is certain she will fall in love with Olly-her new, super cute neighbor. Olly, is certain he must get to know Madeline. There's only one problem: Madeline is allergic to EVERYTHING and the price of leaving her home, or seeing someone else is lethal. This story is about first love and taking risks. It is one of the few books I've finished and started right back at the beginning. Madeline and Olly reminded me how beautiful and sweet first love really is. --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Every Last Word Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484705278
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - June 16th, 2015

Every Last Word follows a teenage girl named Sam struggling with her OCD. Life seems to be picking up until she realizes she’s been seriously misguided, and she has no one to blame but her own self. Tamara Ireland Stone has composed a thoughtful and believable tale that will captivate you from beginning to eBeautiful, gripping, thought provoking.  --Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
It Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143126768
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - October 28th, 2014

Appropriately titled, “It”, Alexa Chung lets us into her life through snapshots and blurbs of her life, things she loves, personal advice. It’s an easy read, and totally inspiring. It makes the perfect gift, or an easy read for yourself. I absolutely adore it!... no pun intended.


Staff Pick Logo
Mademoiselle: Coco Chanel and the Pulse of History Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780812981858
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade - July 14th, 2015

This book is fabulous! The history of Coco Chanel is one of hardship, determination, tenacity and success. Orphaned as a small child, she reinvented herself for survival unbeknownst to her that she would become one of the most iconic figures in fashion history. Absolute must read!


Staff Pick Logo
Lila Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250074843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - October 6th, 2015

So beautifully written, and such a wonderful story. Good things really do come in small packages… Or small books in this case. Lila will captivate you from beginning to end.


If you are a fan of “The Secret” and you’re open to the incorporation of Catholicism into the idea of the law of attraction, you will really enjoy this book. I was raised catholic but I could personally relate to the religion. After reading this book, the importance of religion, regardless of denomination became all too clear to me. This book opened my eyes in ways I never thought possible and gave me a great sense of peace and joy. -Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Embrace Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781402271250
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - September 2012

THIS IS THE BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK EVER! It’s the first in the series, but I guarantee you’re going to want to buy the whole series. Its one of those can’t put it down, would read it a billion times over and over again, incredible, love it to death the best, kind of book. Violet is an amazing heroine and Lincoln will steal your heart away! -Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
Broken Monsters Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780316216814
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mulholland Books - June 16th, 2015

This book is a total thriller with intricate plot lines that twist and connect with each and every character, you will not want to put it down!


Staff Pick Logo
Black Ice Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781442474277
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - November 10th, 2015

Britt and her best friend drive up to the mountains for spring break. On their way, they get caught in a snowstorm and venture out for help.. They cross paths with two men, one of which happens to be Mason, a stranger who saved her from an embarrassing encounter with her ex, Calvin earlier that day. But everything is different in the mountains. Mason and his friend Sean capture the two girls and hold them hostage. Three girls have gone missing in these mountains and their mysteries are still unsolved. Will Britt be the fourth…. Or can she survive? 


Staff Pick Logo
One Past Midnight Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780802737076
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books - August 4th, 2015

Eighteen year old Sabine lives two lives. Never really feeling like she can truly be herself she starts testing theories that are seriously dangerous. Can she find a way to bridge both lives? This book is seriously one of the most touching, beautiful books I’ve ever read. It’s a MUST READ for YA lovers!
 


Staff Pick Logo
Blood Red Road Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781442429994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - January 3rd, 2012

Packed with action and adventure! Eighteen year old Saba is hands down one of the strongest female characters I've read in a VERY long time. Some even call her the Angel of Death... If you liked the Hunger Games, and Divergent, this is the book for you!
-Jenna


Staff Pick Logo
First & Then Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781627792356
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt & Company - October 13th, 2015

"Friday Night Lights" meets Pride and Prejudice. Devon doesn't want things to change, but life has other plans for her. Her awkward and unexpectedly talented cousin, Foster, has just moved into her home and her high school. Ezra is the school football star and puzzle that Devon doesn't care to solve.

Unfortunately, Devon needs an outstanding college application and working on the school paper is the ticket. Her next journal assignment: Ezra's story. Despite prior failed attempts, Devon gives Ezra another shot, and once again it doesn't end well. To make matters worse, Ezra starts coaching Foster for varsity football, making it nearly impossible for Devon to get space from Ezra. The two are like oil and water...until they aren't. The tension between Ezra and Devon is palpable, and the story made my heart sing. I read this book in a night. I couldn't put it down, and I never wanted it to end. It is perfect. --Jenna