Nobel Prize Winners

Nobel Prize for Literature

On November 27, 1895 Alfred Nobel gave the largest share of his fortune to establish the Nobel Prizes. As described in his will, one part was dedicated to "the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction."

The 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature was awarded to Svetlana Alexievich.

Belarusian author and journalist Svetlana Alexievich has been awarded this year's Nobel Prize for Literature "for her polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time." Voices from Chernobyl chronicles personal accounts of what happened to the people of Belarus after the nuclear reactor accident in 1986, and the fear, anger, and uncertainty that remains today.


ISBN: 9780312425845
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - April 18th, 2006

ISBN: 9781564784018
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dalkey Archive Press - June 28th, 2005