The Nethergrim, Book 1 (Hardcover)

$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


The next great fantasy epic is here For fans of "Ranger's Apprentice" and "The Chronicles of Narnia."
Everyone in Moorvale believes the legend: The brave knight Tristan and the famed wizard Vithric, in an epic battle decades ago, had defeated the evil Nethergrim and his minions. To this day, songs are sung and festivals held in the heroes' honor. Yet now something dark has crept over the village. First animals disappear, their only remains a pile of bones licked clean. Then something worse: children disappear. The whispers begin quietly yet soon turn into a shout: The Nethergrim has returned
Edmund's brother is one of the missing, and Edmund knows he must do something to save his life. But what? Though a student of magic, he struggles to cast even the simplest spell.Still, he and his friends swallow their fear and set out to battle an ancient evil whose powers none of them can imagine. They will need to come together--and work apart--in ways that will test every ounce of resolve.
In a story reminiscent of the Ranger's Apprentice epic and "The Chronicles of Narnia," Matthew Jobin weaves reality, magic, and adventure into the next great fantasy phenomenon.
Praise for THE NETHERGRIM
"Riveting. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure."--"Booklist"
"Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel."--"BCCB.

Praise For…


"When his brother, Geoffrey, vanishes one night after a string of disappearances that harbingers the return of an old evil, Edmund, Katherine, and their friend Tom, all interesting and well-rounded characters, fly in the face of the terrifying legends as they seek out Geoffrey and what they hope will be fantastic destinies. They travel untold distances and battle frightening things, both human and magical, to meet their fates. These three brave, smart, and virtuous heroes embark on the beginning of what is sure to be a sweeping, epic fantasy series. Debut author Jobin tells a riveting, slowly building story, and his rich, evocative writing style only adds to the package. Perfect for imaginative middle-grade readers craving a hearty magical adventure."--Booklist

"Fantasy fans will find much to enjoy in this elegant gem of a novel, and the haunting message that the monstrosity of some humans can rival even that of ageless creatures is so carefully and effectively inlaid that it will likely linger even after other details fade."--BCCB

"In this entertaining coming-of-age fantasy . . . fourteen-year-old would-be wizard Edmund, chafing at his parents' plans for him to inherit their inn, wants to rescue his younger brother, who has been kidnapped by the shadowy minions of the Nethergrim. . . . First in a planned trilogy, this is a solid debut for anthropologist Jobin, who steers clear of genre cliches while offering up a refreshingly metaphysical take on magic, a believably dark setting filled with unusual threats, and a seductive and manipulative villain."--Publishers Weekly

An engrossing read. . . . Jobin combines elements of suspense and mystery with a pervasive sense of impending doom.--School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780399159985
ISBN-10: 0399159983
Publisher: Philomel Books
Publication Date: April 8th, 2014
Pages: 356
Language: English