My Family for the War (Paperback)

$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Jul 1 11:37pm
(CHILDREN 14 & UP)

Description


Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Won the Buxtehulde Bulle Prize for Youth Literature
Nominated for the Evangelischer Buchpreis
An ALSC Notable Children's Book
Kids' Indie Next List
Gripping WWII fiction for fans of "Code Name Verity" and "Between Shades of Gray"
At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the "kindertransport "in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers, Frances (as she is now called) courageously pieces together a new life for herself. But what will happen to her when she is finally reunited with her family, now that she's a stranger herself after seven years of war?
Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve's award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.
* "With the personal Kindertransport history, the intense drama about family, faith, guilt, love, and loyalty in wartime makes this an important addition to the Holocaust curriculum."
--Booklist, starred review
* "Events and facts are expertly woven into the girl's emotional growth, and changing relationships . . . provide a rich exploration of identity and self. With a compelling main character and taut and insightful story line, this novel is sure to find no shortage of readers, and it adds a valuable perspective to collections of World War II fiction.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780147511836
ISBN-10: 0147511836
Publisher: Speak
Publication Date: February 24th, 2015
Pages: 416
Language: English