Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy (Paperback)

$8.99
Not in stock. Usually ships in 1-5 days from the warehouse.

Description


It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend, who has gone someplace no one can reach.

In the tradition of The Bell Jar, I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, and Lisa, Bright and Dark comes this haunting first book told in poems, and based on the true story of the author's life.

2000 Best Books for Young Adults (ALA) and 2000 Quick Picks for Young Adults (Recomm. Books for Reluctant Young Readers)

About the Author


Sonya Sones is the author of four acclaimed novels for teens: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy; What My Mother Doesn't Know; One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies; and What My Girlfriend Doesn't Know. She lives in California with her family and only shops at Neiman's when it's having a sale.

Praise for Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy…


“This debut novel shows the capacity of poetry to record the personal and translate it into the universal.”
-Chicago Tribune on Lucy Sullivan

“Stop Pretending is a tour de force debut. It celebrates truth-telling, and has a purity and passion that speaks to the heart.”
-Boston Globe

“The poems have a cumulative emotional power.”
-ALA Booklist (starred review)

“The poems take on life and movement, the individual frames of a movie that in the unspooling become animated, telling a compelling tale.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Unpretentious. Accessible. Deeply felt.”
-School Library Journal

“Sensitively written.”
-The Horn Book

“Heartfelt.”
-KLIATT, starred review

“Beautiful and disturbing.”
-barnesandnoble.com

“Intense…Blank verse is perfect for a story with such heightened emotion.”
-Amazon.com

Product Details ISBN-10: 0064462188
ISBN-13: 9780064462181
Published: HarperTeen, 02/01/2001
Pages: 160
Language: English
Recommended Reading Level Minimum Age: 12
Maximum Age: 17
Minimum Grade Level: 7th Grade
Maximum Grade Level: 12th Grade