If You Were Here: A Novel of Suspense (Paperback)

$14.99
Not Yet Published

Indie Next List

June 2013
If You Were Here is the story of a New York City prosecutor long fallen from grace, now working as a news reporter. McKenna Jordan unexpectedly stumbles across a recent photo of a close friend who disappeared nearly 10 years ago. Nothing is as it seems, not even the case that cost McKenna her career. Clever plot twists kept my nose buried until the very last page. Highly recommended for fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Unger. -- Bina Valenzano, The BookMark Shoppe, Brooklyn, NY

Description


If You Were Here is a thrilling novel of suspense from Alafair Burke, the author Dennis Lehane calls "one of the finest young crime writers working today." Manhattan journalist McKenna Jordan is chasing the story of an unidentified woman who heroically pulled a teenaged boy from the subway tracks. When she locates a video that captures part of the incident, she thinks she has an edge on the competition scrambling to identify the mystery heroine, but is shocked to discover that the woman in the video bears a strong resemblance to Susan Hauptmann, a close friend who disappeared without a trace a decade earlier. What would have been a short-lived metro story sends McKenna on a dangerous search for the missing woman--a search that will force her to unearth long-buried truths much closer to home...

Product Details ISBN-10: 0062208365
ISBN-13: 9780062208361
Published: Harper Paperbacks, 05/01/2014
Pages: 368
Language: English