The Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956: Volume 1: An Experiment in Literary Investigation (Paperback)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Volume 1 of the gripping epic masterpiece, Solzhenitsyn's chilling report of his arrest and interrogation, which exposed to the world the vast bureaucracy of secret police that haunted Soviet society.

About the Author

After serving as a decorated captain in the Soviet Army during World War II, Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) was sentenced to prison for eight years for criticizing Stalin and the Soviet government in private letters. Solzhenitsyn vaulted from unknown schoolteacher to internationally famous writer in 1962 with the publication of his novella One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich; he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1968. The writer's increasingly vocal opposition to the regime resulted in another arrest, a charge of treason, and expulsion from the USSR in 1974, the year The Gulag Archipelago, his epic history of the Soviet prison system, first appeared in the West. For eighteen years, he and his family lived in Vermont. In 1994 he returned to Russia. Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn died at his home in Moscow in 2008.

Praise For…

“Best Nonfiction Book of the Twentieth Century”
-Time magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061253713
ISBN-10: 0061253715
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: December 13th, 2013
Pages: 660
Language: English
Series: Gulag Archipelago