Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead (Paperback)

Mad World: Evelyn Waugh and the Secrets of Brideshead Cover Image
Email or call for price
Backordered

Description


A terrifically engaging and original biography of one of England's greatest novelists, Evelyn Waugh, and the glamorous, eccentric, debauched, and ultimately tragic family that provided him with the most significant friendships of his life and inspired his masterpiece, Brideshead Revisited. Fans of The Mitfords, D.J. Taylor's Bright Young People, and Alexander Waugh's Fathers and Sons, as well as Anglophiles in general, will find much to savor in Paula Byrne's wonderful Mad World.

Praise For…


“An utterly captivating and generous book with all the intimacy of a diary and the scholarly soundness of a fine biography…A singular accomplishment.”
-Chicago Tribune

“An engaging book…remarkably thorough…Deftly interweaving biographical details and textual analysis, Byrne makes the connections between Waugh’s art, Roman Catholic faith, and life dance.”
-Heller McAlpin, Christian Science Monitor

“Altogether excellent and wickedly entertaining…Scandalous detail enlivens every page of this delicious biography…Over the years I’ve read all the major biographies of Evelyn Waugh, and Byrne’s is…the fastest moving and the most fun.”
-Michael Dirda, Washington Post

“Well-researched and absorbing.”
-Booklist

“Remarkable…not only a meticulously researched biography but also an enjoyable read.”
-Library Journal

“A considerable contribution to literary history…includes enough gossipy asides to intrigue readers.”
-Publishers Weekly

“A splendid new book…While displaying the research values of a scholar Byrne also manages to write with the panache and timing of a popular novelist.”
-Alexander Waugh, Daily Beast

“A sharp, entertaining literary biography…A perceptive study of how Evelyn Waugh emerged from middle-class beginnings to inhabit the tony corridors described in BRIDESHEAD REVISITED.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“’Mad World’ is the perfect title for this sparkling book, a hybrid of family romance, incisive literary criticism, and deliciously hot gossip.”
-Martin Rubin, Washington Times

Product Details
ISBN: 9780060881313
ISBN-10: 0060881313
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Publication Date: March 1st, 2011
Pages: 367
Language: English