Book Clubs

Kepler's invites you to register your Book Club with our store. As a registered Book Club you will receive these benefits:

  • 15% discount on orders of five or more books (same title)
  • Emails on Book Club picks, Book Club news and Recent Reviews
  • We can arrange Author call-ins for your Book Club
  • Your Book Club will be invited to our Seasonal Book Club Presentations, featuring local authors


To Register your book club click here.

If you ever have questions, email us at bookclub@keplers.com

To see our list of suggested Book Club Summer Reading, Click Here.

REMINDER: No book club meetings in December. 

Click HERE to see what other books our local book clubs are reading! Sina Herkelrath, Book Club Coordinator




We have several wonderful in-store bookclubs. You are welcome to join us at any of the book club meetings listed below.

Big Ideas Reading Group

Focusing on Science, Philosophy, and Technology


    Saturday, March 14, 4:00 p.m.

The Improbability Principle: Why Coincidences, Miracles, and Rare Events Happen Every Day by David J. Hand

In The Improbability Principle, the renowned statistician David J. Hand argues that extraordinarily rare events are anything but. In fact, they’re commonplace. Not only that, we should all expect to experience a miracle roughly once every month.

      

    Saturday, April 11, 4:00 p.m.

Intuition Pumps and Other Tools for Thinking by Daniel Dennett

Intuition Pumps and Other Tools for Thinking offers 77 of Dennett s most successful "imagination-extenders and focus-holders" meant to guide you through some of life's most treacherous subject matter. Dennett deftly deploys his thinking tools to gain traction on these thorny issues while offering readers insight into how and why each tool was built.

      

    Saturday, May 9, 4:00 p.m.

How We Learn: The Surprising Truth About When, Where, and Why It Happens by Benedict Carey

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives.

“This book is a revelation. I feel as if I’ve owned a brain for fifty-four years and only now discovered the operating manual.”—Mary Roach, bestselling author of Stiff and Gulp

      



Friday Night Book Club

      
    Friday, March 6, 2015, 7:30 p.m.

In the Heart of the Sea  by Nathaniel Philbrick

 

In 1819, the Essex left Nantucket for the South Pacific. In the middle of the South Pacific the ship was rammed and sunk by an angry sperm whale. The crew drifted for more than 90 days in three tiny whaleboats, succumbing to weather, hunger, disease, and ultimately turning to drastic measures in the fight for survival.

Nathaniel Philbrick uses little-known documents-including a long-lost account written by the ship's cabin boy-and penetrating details about whaling and the Nantucket community to reveal the chilling events surrounding this epic maritime disaster. An intense and mesmerizing read. 

      
    Friday, April 3, 2015, 7:30 p.m.

A Jane Austen Education  by William Deresiewicz

 

This intelligent, lively look at the beloved author's novels and what they offered in life lessons to one graduate student will resonate with all Austen fans - and others as well. Like many of us, Deresiewicz, an Austen scholar, found deep lessons on life, love, friendship, and marriage in the pages and parlors of dear Jane's books. 

      
    Friday, May 1, 2015, 7:30 p.m.

The Wolf and the Watchman by Scott Johnson

 

Growing up, Scott C. Johnson always suspected that his father was different. Only as a teenager did he discover the truth: his father was a spy, one of the CIA s most trusted officers. At first the secret was thrilling. But over time Scott began to have doubts. How could a man so rigorously trained to deceive and manipulate simply turn off those skills at home? His father had been living a double life for so long that his lies were hard to separate from the truth. 

 
      
    

Daytime Fiction - & More - Book Club

    Sunday, February 22, 2:00 p.m.

This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper


Mort Foxman's dying wish is that his wife and four children sit shiva for him. With acute and sardonic perception, we view these seven days of enforced togetherness through the eyes of the middle son, Judd.

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Jason Bateman, Tina Fey, and Adam Driver.

      
    Sunday, March 22, 2:00 p.m.

The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce


Meet Harold Fry, recently retired. He lives in a small English village with his wife, Maureen, who seems irritated by almost everything he does.

"[A] story of present-day courage. . . . . about how easily a mousy, domesticated man can get lost and how joyously he can be refound.”—Janet Maslin, New York Times

      


Fiction Book Club

      
     
   Monday, March 16, 7:00 p.m.

At Night We Walk in Circles by Daniel Alarcón


Set in an unnamed South American country years after a protracted civil war has ended, At Night We Walk in Circles chronicles the life and dark fate of Nelson, a bright and promising young man who joins a small guerrilla theatre group.

     
   Monday, April 20, 7:00 p.m.

Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih


"Season of Migration to the North is an engaging and complicated novel, by turns combative and wistful, about two men who leave Sudan to study in England and afterward belong in neither place." --Maude Newton, NPR.com

     
   Monday, May 18, 7:00 p.m.

Gentlemen Prefer Blondes by Anita Loos


This delirious 1925 Jazz Age classic introduced readers to Lorelei Lee, the small-town girl from Little Rock, who has become one of the most timeless characters in American fiction. Outrageous and charming, this not-so-dumb blonde has been portrayed on stage and screen by Carol Channing and Marilyn Monroe and has become the archetype of the footloose, good-hearted gold digger (not that she sees herself that way).

      



Spanish Book Club (The Spanish Book Club does not meet in June or December.)

     
    Monday, March 9, 7:00 p.m. 

Sangre en el ojo  by Lina Meruane

 

At a party, Lucina leans down to pick up her insulin syringe when she notices a thin thread of blood invading her eye. These hemorrhages will leave her blind, permanently or temporarily it is not known. She will be faced with darkness, helplesness and a return to Chile from New York and to her parents house, to everything she had fled, and this will lead her down the path of cruelty, and finally hatred.